Caution and Kindness

We’ve all had, one of those days, you know which kind I mean.  Where there is really no reason to be sad, or just in a plain old bad mood.  Nothing has happened to make you this way, you just woke up on the wrong side of the bed, so to speak.  Sometimes all it takes for me is a look in the mirror to see my hair is a mess, I look fat today, or I just feel like crying for no reason.  There are times I can just shake it off and move on without a care in the world.  Then there are “those days” where not even the bravest soul would want to so much as say hello to me.(Let me state that for the most part I am a happy very laid back person, but every once in a while I have a bad day.  My husband would say once a month, which would lead him to a bad day of his own!)  I usually spend the whole day walking around in a funk, only to end up in tears at some point because I realize I have been mean to anyone who has dared to speak to me.(which is usually my lovely husband)

yes

My question is, if I realize that I am acting crazy and not treating people right, can I change?  The answer is, “Definitely!”  This is not as easy as it sounds though.  Sometimes when we fall into a behavior it is all to easy to continue down the path because we are comfortable.  Maybe we don’t even realize we are judging or being mean to someone else until the words are already out of our mouths.  This is where I would urge every one of you, myself included, to STOP and THINK before you speak.  It’s that simple.  We learned this in middle school, or maybe before, it’s been so long since I was in school I can’t remember.  Whenever you learned this little gem of information doesn’t matter.  What matters is that now you know.  You, yes YOU, are the only one that controls what comes out of your mouth!  Think about what you are going to say or do, before you do it.  Is it going to make the person feel better about their self, life, or situation?  If not keep it to your self.  Just because you have an opinion. doesn’t mean you have to share it.  Yes you have a right to free speech(I’m all for standing up for and preserving our rights as a free people!), but that doesn’t mean you should use it to put others down.  If more of us took into account other people’s feelings instead of just what will make us feel good, the world would be a lot happier place.  Now I’m not saying to let people walk all over you, I just think we should recognize bad  behaviors in ourselves and do what we can to change them.  Stop pointing out what is wrong with others, and work on making ourselves better people, so that maybe someone would see something in us that would make them want to be better.  This is what I strive for in life.  Often times I feel like such a failure, but I get up and keep on trying.    It couldn’t hurt to have a little more kindness in this crazy messed up world.

kind1

Here is my inspiration for this post!  I understand that not everyone believes in the Bible and God.  I do, and even if you don’t want to read these scriptures and my thoughts on them, you shouldn’t scrap the whole article just because we share a difference of opinion.  Opinions can change on a whim, so I hope that you will keep an open mind a continue on reading!

Matthew 7:3-5: And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own?  Or how can you say to your brother, “Let me remove the speck from your eye”; and look a plank is in your own eye? Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Often times I think that people use the scriptures to judge others.  If we would first examine ourselves by what we read in God’s word, we most likely wouldn’t have time to judge others.  I certainly know I wouldn’t.  That’s not saying we shouldn’t encourage each other in what the bible says, but there is a huge difference when you are truly doing something out of love instead of some mixed up version of religion.

Matthew 15:11: Not what goes into the mouth defiles a man, but what comes out of the mouth, this defiles a man.

How many times have you been hurt by someone else’s words towards you?  There will always be someone out there to put you down.  The best thing we can do is let it roll off our backs whenever possible, and recall how it made us feel before treating someone else the same way.  People can judge you in passing, without ever knowing you.  We have, quite possibly all been guilty of doing this at some point in our lives.  Just remember you control what comes out of your mouth.  I would hope that after reading this someone will use more caution and kindness in the way that they speak to others today.  You never know what someone is going through.  You could be the one to make a difference in their day.

kindly

Just an F.Y.I, all the beautiful quotes were found on Pinterest!

2 thoughts on “Caution and Kindness

  1. I will have to say, this is the first blog I’ve ever followed. Love your words. To Ur blog today pulls at the heart strings. Love it, very inspiring. Keep them coming. 🙂

  2. I just read this to baby Lola. She has been screaming at me all morning and it’s not nice! ;). I think it worked, she’s smiling now!

Leave a Reply

