Barnwood Sign Tutorial

I wanted to make a sign for my friend, and I figured, “Why not do a tutorial!”  Please keep in mind that I do not claim to be an artist, I just like making things.  It makes me Happy with a capital H!

Most of the time I can find a way to rig up my craft projects.  Whether it be a homemade hanger or homemade wood stain, who knows what I will come up with.

I started with 3 old barn wood boards.  They were each a different length. I originally wanted them to be the same length, but someone refused to get the saw out at bedtime to cut them.  I cleaned the boards with a wet wash cloth, and painted them each a different color.

IMG_3207

I wanted them to look old and scuffed up so I added a little white paint on the edges.  I also sanded the whole board after the paint dried, just to make them look worn.  Next I figured out what quote I wanted to put on the sign.   Sometimes I think this is the hardest part.  If I don’t have a quote in mind, I can spend hours trying to pick one!  I have serious Pinterest issues.  Luckily for me I had previously decided on a quote.  I just wrote the words on my boards with a pencil.  I don’t always write the words out, sometimes I wing it.  Since this was for someone else and I wanted it to look nice, I wrote them out.  Often I have to erase several times to get them spaced and straight. (Note to self: It would be a good idea to look into buying some huge erasers!)

Now it’s time for the fun part…   painting the words!  I just picked a couple of colors and went to town.  When the words were finished and dry I added some highlights in contrasting colors and some little butterflies.

IMG_3209

Time to connect the boards.  I’m sure there is a simple, professional looking way to do this, but I’m not really into that!  I like to use what ever I can find.  I tend to use liquid nails like duct tape.  I had to reapply the liquid nails about 3 times because I’m impatient and couldn’t wait for it to dry!  I also stuck a paint stick to the back just to add a little extra stability.  For the hanger I used two nails and some twine.  It’s really hit or miss with this kind of hanger.  Sometimes it will hold forever, or maybe you will be walking down the hallway one day and get knocked in the head by a falling sign.  I like to live dangerously, so I always hang my signs like this!

IMG_3217

Looks awesome right?

I set a jug of bleach and a 2 liter bottle of soda on the paint stick to hold it down.  When I woke up the next morning the bleach was stuck to the sign.  No worries, I got it off and put it in the laundry room where it belongs.  I actually tried to wash some laundry today and the bottle of bleach was glued to the floor! (I’m not kidding either)

IMG_3218

Last but not least I wrapped the edges of some a couple of the boards in twine and made a little heart.  Oops and since I forgot, I clear coated the sign after adding all the embellishments!  It was really cold and dark outside so I just carefully clear coated it on the kitchen counter… Don’t tell my husband! (He would yell at me, and say I was going to ruin my new countertop.)

Well, now you know how to make a sign the redneck way!  I hope my sweet friend enjoys the sign I made her, with what is sure to be her new favorite quote.

“Laugh as much as you breathe, Love as long as you live.”    -Johnny Depp

I think I will paint one for myself in the redneck version:
“If you ain’t Lovin, You ain’t Livin!”
Or maybe: “Laugh till yer outta breath!”

Leave a Reply

