“Be very careful on how you live, your life is a permanent sermon!” -anonymous

Have you ever met a person who inspired you to be better?  Someone who is such a good person, every time you’re around them you find yourself examining your life?
I realize no one is perfect, but some people just seem to have it all together.  Yes, this is only my point of view on someone else’s life, and no one has everything all “figured out.”  My point is, there are some people whom when you look at them, there is simply something about them, a certain lightness of spirit, or peacefulness.  You can tell, that even though they may not have it all figured out, there is something different about them.

Titus 2:7: In all things showing yourself to be a pattern of good works, in doctrine showing integrity, reverence, incorruptibility, sound speech that cannot be condemned, that one who is an opponent may be ashamed, having nothing evil to say of you. 
Lucky for me, I know a whole family of people like this.  I grew up knowing this family, but never quite realized the caliber of people they are. (I guess wisdom takes time!)  Over the years I have gotten to know them all pretty well.  It has been said that I stole someone’s best friend, but that is still up for debate. I believe you can have more than one best friend.  I have just been added to the list!
If I’m having a bad day, I have no doubt calling up someone in this family will brighten my mood.  Also if I’m doing something that would lead me astray from God, I can look to any of them and be inspired to keep trying.  Don’t worry I know this family is not perfect, we all struggle in some aspect of our lives.  Still, there is so much to be learned from the faith and humility of others.  I just hope one day to be an example of the same strong enduring faith I see in my friend and her family, so that someone (anyone) will be compelled to seek out God.  If for no other reason than the fact that I am different from most in the way I live my life.

Matthew 6:24: No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be loyal to one and despise the other.  You cannot serve God and Mammon.  

Some spend all their time seeking out awards, trying to be rich, and doing whatever it takes to win the competition against others.  If life is nothing but a popularity contest, I have already lost.  Whether it’s because I’m getting up in years or some other reason that I have yet to discern, I no longer feel the need to seek the favor of others. I only need approval from one, God!
Luke 12:15: And he said to them, “Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of things he possesses.”
We can waste precious time being jealous of what our neighbors have, and striving to have the next big thing.  There is much we could do to make ourselves stand out in the world.  If the only reason we want to be different is to please the world, I fear at the end of our time here we will have a certain emptiness inside.

Matthew 6:31: Therefore do not worry saying, “What shall we eat? or What shall we drink? or What shall we wear?” For after all these things the gentiles seek.  For your Heavenly Father knows you need all these things.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

I have seen my friend and her family face many situations with a sense of peace that sometimes is hard to understand when looking at life from a worldly perspective.

Philippians 4:6-7: Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your request be known to God, and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

If we choose to live our lives from a place of love and put God first, instead of striving for “things”, God says He will provide for our needs.  We will not have to lose time worrying about what will happen tomorrow.

Colossians 3:12-15: Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another and forgiving one another, even as Christ forgave you, so you must also do.  But above all these things put on love which is the bond of perfection.  And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which you also were called in one body, and be thankful.

When I stand before God I don’t want to be holding a pile of new shoes and money as an offering.  There is nothing I can bring to God that He wants more than a life well lived in Him.  I hope to march up to the throne of Christ with a heaping pile of souls that were saved by the example I set in living my life for God and sharing His word with others!

Mark 16:15: And he said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.  He who believes and is baptized will be saved, but he who does not believe will be condemned.”

Leave a Reply

