God’s will

I was recently asked a series of questions by my lovely sister-in-law.  One of them was, “How do I know I am doing Gods will?”
I have some thoughts on the subject, so I thought I would share.  First I had to ask myself the question:

Why do I even want to be in God’s will?
When I read about how Jesus suffered and gave His life, so that I could be separated from sin and drawn closer to God, I feel the truth of it in my very core.  Some are skeptical, some won’t even consider the possibility that God exists.  I feel so sad thinking about those people who will never know the things God has for them.  I want to live in a way that someone will see something in the way I live, act, think, and treat others that they will want to find out why. (I know I say this A LOT but it’s how I feel and I thought we were sharing) If that means I have to wake up every day and make a decision to be in God’s will, then so be it!
First and foremost I think God wants us to surrender to Him, and do everything we possibly can to let others see Him in us.

Matthew 6:33 Seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

In order to be all that God wants us to be, some of us may have to take a look at our definition of success.  Do you work to provide your family with the things they need to survive, or do you feel like you need to have the best of everything.  The most expensive cars, clothing, and electronics may make you popular with many, but I want to be popular with the One who created me.  I’m not saying there is anything wrong with having these things, but if you are stressed to the max trying to get them there may be an issue.  Seek first the kingdom of God, and all these things will be added to you!

1 Timothy 6:7 : “After all, we didn’t bring anything with us when we came into the world, and we certainly cannot carry anything with us when we die.  So if we have enough food and clothing let us be content.  But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction.  For the love of money is at the root of all kinds of evil.  And some people, craving money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows.”

So if God’s will is for us to surrender to Him, and lead others to Him through the way we live our lives, why do we need a job?
The bible says a lot about working, and not being lazy.  God even gave Adam things to do in the beginning.  Before I get someone pointing out that I don’t have a “job” (and trust me there is always someone), I still work.  Just because I don’t get paid, doesn’t mean I am not working.  I load and stack firewood so often in the winter, I feel like I should answer to the name Paul Bunyan.  Sometimes I feel like I am running a soup kitchen. (not complaining, I love cooking for others!) There is a huge difference between not having a job, and being lazy.  If you never do anything productive, where is your sense of purpose.  God did not will for you to sit around doing nothing and looking for a hand out.  If you really need help that’s fine, I understand people face hard times and sometimes need assistance from others.  If you are capable of helping yourself, get up and do something please. (whoops I better watch out, I might lose a couple of my 10 readers after that comment!)
Proverbs 13:4: “Lazy people want much but get little, but those who work hard will prosper and be satisfied.”
All I will say is if you have never experienced the satisfaction of a job well done, whether it is stacking wood on the porch so your family can be warm, or working all week for a paycheck to provide, you are truly missing out.  The feeling of accomplishment from hard work is a good thing!

Everyone has something they are good at.  That one thing that if you could do it for a living, you would be happy and content.  I find it really hard to believe that God would lead you to a career that you will be miserable in.  If God desired for us to be miserable and unhappy why would he go to so much trouble to save us?

If your job is taking up all your time, and you find that you have no time left for God and your family, maybe it’s time for a change.  Put God first, and everything else will be added to you.

Galatians 5:22:  “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.  Against such there is no law.”

You have no control over the way others treat you in everyday life, but you are in charge of the way you treat others.  If you aren’t seeing any of the things in Galatians 5:22 coming forth from yourself, maybe it’s time to re-evaluate yourself and your attitude.  If you are living the life God has planned for you, all of these things should be present in your life.

Colossians 3:23:  “And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men.”

Yes, sometimes we all have to do things that we do NOT want to do.  What’s the point in having a poor attitude the whole time.  We still have to do it, and now we’ve been in a bad mood the whole time to boot.  Try thinking of it this way, there may be someone out there who would love to mow the lawn with a push mower, but they can’t because they are in a wheelchair.  Just try to be mindful of the things you have and can do, because not everyone can do the things you are able to.  My husband is really good at pointing this out to me when I start feeling sorry for myself, or thinking I’m not good enough.  He always reminds me that there are people out there who would love to have what we have, and be able to do the things that we are able to do.  If you wake up in the morning, be grateful.  Somewhere out there someone else may have just breathed their last breath.

Proverbs 3:5-6:  “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.”

Psalm 37:4:  “Delight yourself also in the Lord , And He shall give you the desires of your heart.”

If you find that you are working in a job where you are being treated unfairly, maybe it’s just a matter of speaking to the person of authority and voicing your concerns. (if you simply don’t like what you are doing for a living, find something you like to do and do it whenever possible)  Try your best to do it in a respectful way.  If things don’t change, maybe it’s time to start looking for employment elsewhere.  Start working towards putting forth the fruit of the Spirit talked about in Galatians 5:22 and put God first.  Make changes where you feel he is leading you to make them.  While there is great value in hard work, life is too short to work everyday all day and have no time for anything or anyone else.  As I grow older I find myself realizing more and more, life is not about the things we have or the money we make.  I am much happier when I can spend time drawing close to God, and making memories with people I love.

 

Leave a Reply

