The tongue has no bones, but is strong enough to break a heart. So be careful with your words. -anonymous

Is it just me, or does anyone else find that they are appalled by the words they speak?  It seems like my mouth works faster than my brain, and I’m just standing there shocked, baffled at what I have spoken.  Sometimes at the end of the day I find myself reflecting and thinking, “Did I actually say that?”  Why oh why, can I not control the stupid things I say?  I need a little angel on my shoulder to slap me in the mouth when I start to say something I shouldn’t!  Since this is not going to happen, and I can’t go around smacking myself in the mouth, I will have to start exercising some self-control.

 

James 3:5 “The tongue is a small thing, but what enormous damage it can do.”

 

I used to not care what other people thought of me, I just lived my life however I saw fit.  I would do or say what ever I felt like without realizing the effect my words could have on others.  I finally realized that words can tear someone down, or build them up.  I don’t want to be the one going around filling others with discouragement.  I want to spread hope and kindness, so I really need to get a handle on this crazy mouth of mine!  I have always heard people say, “think before you speak.”  Maybe it’s finally time to put that little nugget of wisdom into action.

 

“Strong people don’t put others down, they lift them up.”  -Michael P. Watson

 

Maybe it’s because I’m getting old (in my mind I still look 17!) and more mature that I feel guilty for words spoken, that would have been better off not said.  I have never been one to pick on others, but am sad to say that I’m sure there have been times that I have inadvertently done so. (or in the very least didn’t stop someone else from being mean to others.)  These days I am all about lifting others up, instead of saying or doing things that could bring them down.  I’m certain it has everything to do with God working in my life and leading me to be a better person than I was yesterday.  I believe every day is new and where we failed yesterday we can hopefully improve today.  Even if you don’t believe in my God, where could you go wrong with trying to treat others better and speaking kinder words?

 

Be one who nurtures and builds, be one who has an understanding and forgiving heart, who looks for the best in people, Leave people better than you found them!  – Marvin J. Ashton

 

There is so much bad going on in the world, I can’t understand why anyone would want to make it worse.  I certainly don’t want to add to anyone else’s troubles.  I will say I’m sorry whenever I can, and let the rest go.  At times I feel like all I do is beg others for their forgiveness.  What’s amazing is the other person will usually say they didn’t even realize I had been rude, and weren’t offended.  This leads me to believe that apologies don’t only benefit the person who receives them.  Maybe the person doing the apologizing needed a lesson in humility and that’s why they felt a need to make amends.

 

“And apologies, once postponed, become harder and harder to make, and finally impossible.”  -Gone with the wind

 

Some people are afraid of change, not me, I’m all for a positive change.  I may not be able to change the way others treat me, but I can for sure change how I treat others.  I will try to be more aware about what comes out of my mouth and the effect it has on the people around me.  I hope some of you will join me in my journey to being a better, kinder person!  Let’s work on uplifting others instead of putting them down.  It’s never too late to make a change for the positive!  I pray for wisdom to recognize hateful words and that I would be strong enough to stop myself from letting them escape from my lips!

 

Actually, I just woke up one day, and decided I didn’t want to feel like that anymore, or ever again, so I changed, Just like that.  -anonymous

Leave a Reply

