“Two things to remember in life: Take care of your thoughts when you are alone, and take care of your words when you are with people.” -anonymous

It has been a few weeks since my last post.  I have been super busy doing all kinds of fun things! (Yay me!)  In the midst of all the chaos of everyday life, I’ve found myself under the scrutiny of others for no apparent reason.  No matter what we do, we will never please every single person in our lives.  I will choose to do what is pleasing to God, and what I feel like I am being called to do.  One of my most favorite scriptures is found in Galatians 1:10: ” For am I now seeking the approval of man or of God?  Or am I trying to please man?  If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

I so badly want to be found pleasing in the sight of God, that I would spend the rest of my life scrubbing toilets if that is what He called me to do. (I really hope he never calls me into bathroom ministry!)  So why do I let the words and actions of others affect me in a negative way? The only answer I can come up with is that I am constantly praying for God to make my heart like His.  It surely hurts His heart when people try to bring each other down instead of loving and uplifting one another.  Another reason is, words hurt!  That is as plain and simple as I can make it.

Proverbs 12:18″  “There is one whose rash words are like sword thrusts, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”

Say what?  Words can bring healing?  If you knew a kind word could make someone’s broken heart feel just a little bit better, would you speak it?  The thing is we may never know the power and healing our words have, but let’s choose to speak them anyway.

Proverbs 12:25: “Anxiety in a mans heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad.”

I have a really hard time letting go of things that others say about me.  It’s not the fact that they said something about me, I just find myself so perplexed at why people are so judgmental and mean.  In the heat of the moment, I can definitely let my emotions get the best of me and say things that I shouldn’t.  I try very hard to just let things go, and treat everyone with kindness.  Once words are said, you can always apologize, but they can never be unsaid.  I always pray for God to help me measure the words that come out of my mouth.  I try to think, “will saying what’s on my mind make the other person have a better day, or am I saying this for my own selfish pride?”

Psalm 141:3: “Set a guard O Lord, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.”

Psalm 19:14: “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”

What is the main way we express ourselves?  Our voice of course!  We can choose to use it for good, or not so good things.  We can promote love and kindness, or prejudice and hate.

Matthew 12:36: ” But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

 

Try to remember this is just my take on what I am facing in my life.  If what I write can help someone, that is great.  I’ve come to realize that writing is sometimes just as much for myself, as the ones who read it.  Feel free to leave your comments and let me know what you think, but please be nice!

 

 

Leave a Reply

