God knows my name

I LOVE shopping!!!  Who doesn’t? (My lovely husband of course!  He absolutely loathes going to the store with me.  He says I have to look at everything.  He especially loves the way I fill my cart up, and then put half the stuff back before checking out.)  There is a fine line between enjoying going shopping and not being happy unless you can go shopping.  There was a time in my life when I would go buy a new outfit because I was having a bad day.  I would look to shopping to make me feel better.  The truth is it worked for a little while, but it was just like putting a Band-Aid on cut that really need antibiotic ointment.

 

Hebrews 13:5 

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

 

There is the kicker, “be content with what you have” !  Whoa…    that’s a tough one!  Isn’t this what life is all about?  It’s all great until one day you’re sitting on your couch surrounded by all your stuff, and you realize you don’t need any of it to be complete.  Only one thing can make you whole and fully satisfy the emptiness you are trying desperately to fill.

 

Colossians 2:10 

And you have been filled in him, who is the head of all rule and authority.

 

I look around and see a world of people who find their value in the “things” they own.  They look around at what everyone else has, and work even harder to compete and collect.  They are taught that you work all of your life to buy a nice house, car, clothing, electronics, etc.  They spend their days in an electronic universe.  There is nothing wrong with having nice things, but when you require those things to ensure your happiness, this can become a problem.

 

Ecclesiastes 4:4 

Then I saw that all toil and all skill in work come from a man’s envy of his neighbor. This also is vanity and a striving after wind.
So what does the bible say about the competing with other people?  It is like chasing after the wind!  Whaaat?   Who can catch the wind?  Certainly not me!  Really why would I want to catch the wind? (shoulder shrug)  What would I do with it once I had it?  

Would it be like, the next big thing?  Everyone would want to get their hands on some wind!  I doubt this will ever happen because for one thing, I am no a trendsetter.  I didn’t even have a cell phone until about 6 months ago.  I get made fun of all the time for not having a smart phone.  I can’t text you because I don’t have texting on my phone, I can however dial 911 in case of emergency.  It’s just one more thing that makes me different from everyone around me.  It’s not very easy to live in a world where most people seem to care only about the things they have, instead of the people around them.  I constantly feel as thought I do not, nor will I ever “fit in” with well, anyone.  At the end of the day it is simply not important for me to compete with the world for who has the best stuff.

What is really important you say?  To me it’s living a life I can look back on and not be ashamed of.  A life full of kindness toward others, that does more good than harm.  When my life has reached its end people may not remember who I am, but I will find comfort in the fact that God knows my name!

 

Isaiah 43:1

But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.

Leave a Reply

