Ain’t it funny how a melody, brings back memories…


Spent the day with friends, and one of my most favorite guys. Driving home we look up and see this gorgeous sky. It reminded me that even in the hardest times of life there is beauty to be found. Maybe just in all the friends showing up unannounced to share a little love. Perhaps in a song that touches your heart at just the right moment. Hard times come and go, but when you learn to smile in the middle of the tears it’s a reminder that the pain will pass. Life may never look exactly like it did yesterday again, but that’s what life does… It moves forward. Cherish those moments spent with loved ones, even those you have a hard time loving. Let things go when given the chance, before the chance passes you by.  
One of my most favorite songs goes like this…

“Someday when the world is cold, and I’m feeling low. I will feel a glow, just thinking of you, and the way you look tonight.” 
Hard times are just well… Hard. I don’t always know the right words to say for comfort, mostly because I’m a broken vessel. In life we tend to shy away from things that make us uncomfortable, because it’s easier not to deal with them. Everything in life makes me uneasy these days. I understand loss and pain way better than I ever wanted to. I wish I knew exactly what to say to ease the stress of tough situations for those I love. What I will say is that if you have a great support system and are very loved. Let that be a comfort. If you have any faith at all, stand on that! When you are feeling low, reach out your hand and mine will already be there waiting. It might be shaking, but it will be there stretched out to lift you up when you need it most.  

Through this past year I’ve also learned that sometimes down is the only direction to go in order to be lifted up. Kneeling brings healing. Sounds cheesy, but there are so many nights I’ve spent kneeling in prayer. I’ve been having a hard time with that lately, but I do it anyway. When things are confusing and scary that’s where I always find myself. Whether it’s 2 pm or midnight, talking to God centers me and calms my wandering heart.  

Leave a Reply

